15 Different Monkey Species

»»15 Different Monkey Species

There are more than 260 species of Monkeys found in the world today. They are derived from early primates that have been around for millions of years. There isn’t enough information about evolution to say with certainty how they came to be. These primates range in size from only about 4 ounces to those that weigh up to 77 pounds. It isn’t fully understood what all has occurred with evolution to allow these Monkeys to branch off in so many directions. There is plenty of information though to indicate they have been around for more than 50 million years in so degree. Monkeys are extremely intelligent and they have a brain that is very large. They are able to problem solve and they use their minds in mysterious ways. They are able to use tools in order to create nests, to drink water, and even to defend themselves. They may use rocks or sticks as tools for accessing food supplies.

Spider Monkey

There are 7 known sub species of the Spider Monkey. They belong to the class of New World Monkeys. They are believed to be the biggest of all the different Monkeys in that particular class.

Squirrel Monkey

The Common Squirrel Monkey is one that gets its name for looking very similar to the Squirrel. They are part of the New World Monkeys. The tropical regions of South America is where you will find the Common Squirrel Monkey.

Velvet Monkey

The Vervet Monkey is an Old World classification. There are 5 known subspecies that have been identified. They have a very unique appearance to them which helps them to be separated from other types of Monkeys found in the world.

Proboscis Monkey

The Proboscis Monkey is also called the Monyet Belanda Monkey, which means the long nosed Monkey. It belongs to the Old World classification. In the Egyptian Culture they were worshipped as a very unique animal and believed to be special to the gods.

Pygmy Monkey

There are many names that you may hear the Pygmy Marmoset called by. They are known as the Pocket Monkey, Little Lion, and the Dwarf Monkey. They are the smallest of all the Monkeys and also one of the worlds smallest primates.

Rhesus Macaque

The Rhesus Macaque is also known as the Rhesus Monkey. It belongs to the Old World category and is among the best known. These are small Monkeys with pink faces that don’t have any fur on them.


Many people mistake the Mandrill for the Baboon but they are different although they do look similar in appearance. They are members of the Old World Monkeys and are considered the largest member too. In fact, they were once classified as Baboons.

Common Marmoset

The Common Marmoset is a very different type of Monkey. It is often called the Cotton Eared Marmoset. The unique physical appearance of this Monkey is very different. They have a gray body and as they get older they develop white tuffs that extend from the sides of the face.


Gibbons are sometimes wrongly taken as monkeys but they are small apes. The controversy often continues and so you will find information out there about them in both categories. You may hear them called the Lesser Apes at times too.

Golden Lion Tamarin

The Golden Lion Tamarin is a very appealing small Monkey that fits into the New World. They have long been part of legends and stories due to they golden color that shines in the sunlight.

Howler Monkey

The Howler Monkey is a large type of New World Monkey. There name comes from the fact that they are louder than any other types of Monkeys. They are believed to be the loudest of all land animals on the planet.

Japanese Macaque

The Japanese Macaque is also called the Snow Monkey. It belongs to the Old World species. Two subspecies have been identified. They have a vital role in the early Buddhist religion. This continues today throughout the works of this particular religion.


Sharing 91% DNA similarities with humans is the Baboon. This particular Monkey is often argued to be an Ape instead. However, science has placed them into the area of being a Monkey based on a variety of contributing factors.

Blue Monkey

The Blue Monkey is very unique in how it looks but it isn’t blue. It is also know as the Diademed Monkey. This species belongs to the Old Monkey World. There are a couple of known subspecies as well.

Capuchin Monkey

The Capuchin Monkey belongs to the New World Organization. They only live in the trees and they only are active during the day.  They are considered to be the most intelligent of New World Monkeys and are often used in movies.

By | 2017-09-05T17:40:01+00:00 August 28, 2017|Categories: , , , |0 Comments

About the Author:

Recent Texas Tech graduate with a Bachelors in public relations. Ashley enjoys writing, creating graphics and watching funny puppy videos with her cat, Bill.

Leave A Comment